Love in the Fast Lane

Love always feels like a one way street
Heading somewhere where we’ll never meet
But I know one day our lives with merge
Till then gotta stop looking for my turn

I know it didn’t happen this time
You get so few chances in a lifetime
It might not have been the right time for us
But I haven’t given up on you nonetheless

I’m not ready to give up on you
It’s not what my heart wants to do
I will wait forever till that day
When you come back home to stay

You got so many things going on
Like you’re starting to feel withdrawn
I always wish I could help you through
But there’s nothing that I could do

You’re trying to get back on solid ground
And stop your worries from making a sound
But I know when your done living in the fast lane
You will be back in arms again

Cause I’m not ready to give up on you
It’s not what my heart wants to do
I will wait forever till that day
When you come back home to stay

I heard that you were back in town
But I can’t believe we are sitting down
I can still see the sparkle in your eyes
It’s like we never really said goodbye

I can tell your minds at ease
I’m so glad you didn’t forget about me
And now you can focus less on life’s Grand Prix
And focus more on what could be

I’m glad I didn’t give up on you
I trusted what my heart wanted to do
Because if I didn’t wait around till today
You wouldn’t be back home to stay

Leave a Reply

