The Eternal Mark

Your love is etched into my heart
Like a drunken late night tattoo
This part of me that I can’t forget
About what was done by you

Why can’t I get you out my head
All those mean things you said to me
I want to forget all about you
You’re nothing but a distant memory

But you have found our eternal mark
On this heart I call my own
When will you lose your grip on me
Cause it’s no longer yours to own

The night we had is over now
Maybe that’s all it ever was
So why can’t I seem to let go of you
It has put my heart on pause

You are not the man I thought
The one I thought you were
Cause everything about last night
Is slowly starting to blur

But you have found our eternal mark
On this heart I call my own
Soon you will lose your grip on me
Cause i’m no longer yours to own

My time with you has shown the truth
To the monster who was hiding inside
But the truth came out suddenly
Now what was left of love has died

So now this grip that you had on me
Has slowly lost its appeal
So I am stronger then I was before
Now that my heart is no longer yours to steal

I’ve created my own eternal mark
Where yours once has stood
You finally lost your grip on me
Like I knew you finally would

Leave a Reply

