The Shield we hide behind

You walked into my life
With nothing there to hide
But the passion that burns
Way Down deep inside

I try to push you back
Cause I can’t let you in
I’m not ready for you to see
What my life has been

I know everyone has their issues
Their own demons they have to slay
But why does it feel in the end
I can’t ever live life my way

The world might see me happy
Like I can be oh so free
But no matter how hard I try
I just can’t let myself be me

I feel I have some role to play
Like I’m part of a grander plan
But all I really want right now
Is the love of a single man

So why can’t I be happy
Why can’t I let someone close
What keeps my heart so guarded
When love is what matters most

Leave a Reply

