Who you knew I could be

For the last couple years
I was living like someone else
But for once in my life
It feels like I’m living for myself

Things were so confusing
I didn’t really know who I was
I guess it’s kinda funny
What a good friend does

You don’t know how you helped me
How you brought out the best in me                                                                                                 And now I’m starting to see                                                                                                               Who you knew that I could be

I always thought that I was                                                                                                                   Right where I was supposed to be

But life is starting to show me
There’s a lot more there to see

Everything I thought I was
Has changed to something more
And now I’m starting to realize
What I’ve been searching for

I know it won’t be the same
Since I know you’re leaving here
But I know no matter how far you are
You will always be near

But now that you are leaving
Just know I’m on my way
I’ll take what you did for me
And remember it everyday

I’ll remember how much you helped me
How you brought out the best in me
And how you helped me start to see
Who you knew that I could be

Leave a Reply

