A Painted Smile

People say I wear a smile
To hide away all the pain
That the emptiness I have inside
Is all that I restrain

I guess the mask I am wearing
Is starting to wear thin
After I been wasting all this time
Wondering what could have been

But this feeling deep inside
Is starting to wear me out
And all it’s adding to my life
Is fear and doubt

But it’s so damn hard for me
To change how I am
When I don’t even know
Where in life I stand

Sometimes it’s easier for me
To just slap on a smile
When everything in my life
Seems like just another trial

But this feeling deep inside
Is starting to wear me out
And all it’s adding to my life
Is fear and doubt

But i’m not the only person
To ever feel this way
Yet somehow everyone
Makes it through another day

So I guess it’s time for me
To try to paint on a true smile
It might not be that easy
Cause it has been awhile

Cause this feeling deep inside
Was starting to wear me out
And all it was adding to my life
Was fear and doubt

 

 

Leave a Reply

