Being my Own Star

Everyone seems to be searching for
A dream to call their own
Wishing they could be more then
What they’ve always known

Can I be more then who I am
Can I be more than this
Always looking at the midnight sky
Hoping they can make a wish

What if I could be anything
If my dreams could reach the sky
Maybe I could be my own star
If I wasn’t afraid to try

The world can seem so big
So many choices that we can make
If only I wasn’t afraid that I
Might make another mistake

But some mistakes that we make
Were meant to make us who we are
They lead us down the path we seek
That leads to the shining star

What if I could be anything
If my dreams could reach the sky
Maybe I could be my own star
If I wasn’t afraid to try

But here I am right now
Realizing the dream I wanted to be
What if everything lead me to
Something I was afraid to see

I don’t need a star in the sky
To make my dreams come true
And I know that I am not alone
This can happen with any of you

What if you could be anything
If your dreams could reach the sky
Maybe you can be your own star
if you weren’t afraid to try

Leave a Reply

