A Different View

Mother: HOW DOES ONE LEARN TO TEACH A CHILD
WHO’S DIFFERENT FROM THE REST
WHEN THERE’S NO HANDBOOK TO GO BY
GOD KNOWS I”M DOING MY BEST

IT’S SO HARD TO HOLD THESE FEELINGS IN
NOT BEING ABLE TO UNDERSTAND MY OWN CHILD
SOMETIMES I FEEL I’M THE WORST PARENT
WHEN I JUDGE MY OWN KID’S STYLE

FOR AS LONG AS I CAN RECALL
I JUST CAN’T SEEM TO FIND
WHY CAN’T I SEEM TO UNDERSTAND
THIS LITTLE CHILD OF MINE

I’VE WATCHED HIM FOR SO LONG
AND I TRIED TO HAVE HIS BACK
BUT I WON’T BE ABLE TO HELP HIM WITH
THE CUES THAT HE LACKS

Therapist: I KNOW IT MIGHT BE HARD FOR YOU
AND YOU MIGHT NOT UNDERSTAND
BUT MAKE SURE THAT HE KNOWS
YOU’LL BE THERE NO MATTER WHEN

WHEN YOU ARE BLESSED WITH A KID
WHO’S UNIQUE IN THEIR OWN WAY
REMEMBER THAT THEY SEE THE WORLD
IN THEIR OWN LITTLE WAY

Mother:I GUESS SOMETIMES THE BEST THING
A PARENT CAN REALLY DO
IS TO TEACH THEIR KIDS TO BE THEMSELVES
AND TO BE ABLWAYS TRUE

I CAME TO TERMS TO HOW HE IS
AND HOW HE’LL ALWAYS BE
THE ONLY THING I HOPE HE KNOWS
HE’S EVERYTHING TO ME

Therapist:WHEN LIFE GIVES YOU A FAMILY
NO MATTER HOW THEY TURN OUT
REMEMBER LOVE AND ACCEPTANCE
IS WHAT IT’S ALL ABOUT

Leave a Reply

