The Wrong Role

Even when I know I belong on stage
Why am I afraid of the part I play
The role I feel I was given
Doesn’t reflect what I want to say

It’s like I’m playing the wrong role
And I’m afraid to state the fact
Instead I stand in silence
And listen to how I should act

But these lines aren’t meant for me
I’ve been slightly miscast
So it’s time for me to speak up
Tell them of the mixup at long last

Only then will I feel at home
In the role I was meant for
Will they understand that
I was meant for something more

Leave a Reply

