I Deserve Better

Inspired by a friends experience…

Even when my friends kept telling me
About all the shit you did
I kept telling them that it’s okay
Even with all the trust you undid

Everyone that we come across
Has a flaw attached to their name
That’s just the price that we pay
When we’re playing this game

I could have settled with what I had
Tell myself it didn’t matter
But as I tell myself it wasn’t that bad
I realize I deserve so much better

You keep trying to apologize to me
Saying I’m so sorry boo
But you can tell that to somebody else
Who will trust someone like you

Somebody that will take all your crap
And learn to accept all your faults
But the person you see in front of you
Isn’t the one that you want

I could have settled with what I had
Tell myself it didn’t matter
But as I tell myself it wasn’t that bad
I realize I deserve so much better

I could have accepted all the pain
No matter how much it really hurt
Put it all up to experience
Cause it only strengthens my heart

But I’ve finally come to realize that
That’s not how real love goes
Cause I’m the only one with answers
Cause i’m the only one that know’s

So glad I didn’t settle for what I had
Cause I know how much I matter
I should have listened to how it was bad
And demand so much better

Leave a Reply

